Schedule - CSL 196-0002 (12675)

 

Week#

Day/Date

Assignment/Activity

 
Week 9

Monday, October 13

Mid-Term Break - Class does not meet...

Wednesday, October 15

Introduction to course | General Edu. | Career Portfolio | Seff-Directed Search Activity

 

Week 10

Monday, October 20

Holland Codes | Holland/O*Net Interest Profiler (Sakai activity) Begin making appointments for a "One-On-One Meeting w/Instructor" (Sakai sctivity)

Wednesday, October 22

Find Your Gifts & Talents ( Sakai activity).

 

Week 11

Monday, October 27

Interests, Values, Skills (also see Activities, various assessments, online assessments) also a Sakai activity

Wednesday, October 29

Skills and values, cont...; Multiple Intelligences; Nebraska Career Connections (Kuder® Career Interests Assessment, Kuder® Skills Confidence Assessment-A, and Kuder® Work Values Assessment) - Sakai activity

 

Week 12

Monday, November 3

Nebraska Career Connections, cont.; Begin Self-Discovery Fun exercise ( Sakai activity) We will be doing a variety of tests on the online assessments page, particularly those found under the "Test Yourself" heading...

Wednesday, November 5

Self-Discovery Fun cont.; 40+ Unusual Careers | Research unusual careers on the internet | Read about some Middle Class Careers that are expected to vanish by 2018

 

Week 13

Monday, November 10

Motivation and Career Anchors - Excel scoring sheet - Sakai activity) | Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) | Further research using the links page and other internet resources. Begin making appointments for 2nd meeting with instructor.

Wednesday, November 12

Decision-Making Worksheet you can also use a (DMW Excel version that calculates - Sakai activity) | Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) | Further research using the links page and other internet resources

 

Week 14

Monday, November 17

Guest speaker from Career Services: Jessie Piper will talk about cover letters, resumes, and Internships...

Wednesday, November 19

Guest speaker from Career Services: Heather Reinhardt will talk about interviewing...

 

Week 15

Monday, November 24

Start your paper – “My Career Planning Process” Click here for details on your paper. Also a Sakai activity

Wednesday, November 26

No Class - Fall Break/Thanksgiving

 

Week 16

Monday, December 1

Last Day of Class - your paper is due! | wIf you have completed everything else, we are done except for the final!; DECLARE YOUR MAJOR (or at least have some ideas in mind...); read Ineffective Daily Affirmations and Thoughts from Steven Wright Chaos, panic, and disorder everywhere... my work here is done!

December 2-8

Study Week

 

 

December 9-12

Final Exam Week. Our final time is scheduled for 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM on Wednesday, December 10.