Schedule - IDS 196-01

 

Week#

Day/Date

Assignment/Activity

 

Week 1

Tuesday, August 20

Introduction to course | General Education | Career Portfolio | Lateral Thinking Activity

Thursday, August 22

Holland Codes | Holland/O*Net Interest Profiler (Sakai activity)

 

Week 2

Tuesday, August 27

Find Your Gifts and Talents (Sakai sctivity). Begin making appointments for a "One-On-One Meeting w/Instructor" (Sakai sctivity).

Thursday, August 29

Interests, Values, Skills (also see Activities, various assessments, online assessments) also a Sakai activity

 

Week 3

Tuesday, September 3

Skills and values, cont...; Multiple Intelligences; Nebraska Career Connections (Kuder® Career Interests Assessment, Kuder® Skills Confidence Assessment-A, and Kuder® Work Values Assessment) - Sakai activity

Thursday, September 5

Nebraska Career Connections, cont.

 

Week 4

Tuesday, September 10

40+ Unusual Careers | Research unusual careers on the internet | Read about some Middle Class Careers that are expected to vanish by 2018

Thursday, September 12

Self-Discovery Fun ( Sakai activity) In today's class we will begin doing a variety of tests on the online assessments page, particularly those found under the "Test Yourself" heading... -

 

Week 5

Tuesday, September 17

Self_Discovery Fun Cont...: Personality and Careers | Take the Star Wars Personality Test | Take the Morals & Personality Test | Take the Music & Personality Test |

Thursday, September 19

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) | Further research using the links page and other internet resources...

 

Week 6

Tuesday, September 24

Motivation and Career Anchors - Excel scoring sheet) | Decision-Making Worksheet you can also use a (DMW Excel version that calculates) - these are a Sakai activities

Thursday, September 26

Guest speaker from Career Services: Jessie Piper will talk about cover letters, resumes, and Internships...

 

Week 7

Tuesday October 1

Guest speaker from Career Services: Heather Reinhardt will talk about interviewing...

Thursday, October 3

Start your paper – “My Career Planning Process” Click here for details on your paper. Also a Sakai activity

 

Week 8

Tuesday, October 8

Continue working on/Finish your paper...

Thursday, October 10

Final Class - paper due; class evaluation; DECLARE YOUR MAJOR (or at least have some ideas in mind...); Take the final test; read Ineffective Daily Affirmations and Thoughts from Steven Wright Chaos, panic, and disorder everywhere... my work here is done!