Student Handbook - General Information
It is the responsibility of each student to become familiar with the procedures and regulations of the undergraduate portion of the college catalog. A student who transfers from one major to another, from one endorsement to another, or from one-degree program to another, must have the entire program reviewed by the Registrar. The student must meet all degree requirements and academic regulations of the catalog in force at the time of the change. Students must earn 12 hours in each two-year period to retain the privilege of continuing on their present programs.
Students who fail to earn 12 hours in any two year period will have to meet the graduation requirements and academic regulations in effect at the time they are re-enrolled.
Pre-Professional Skills Test (PPST)
The State of Nebraska has established the Pre-Professional Skills Test (PPST) as a measure of basic competency in the areas of math, reading, and writing. All education majors must take the test and must earn (at least) the following minimum scores: math- 171; reading- 170; writing- 172.
It is strongly recommended that education students take the PPST as soon as possible in their academic preparation. Passing scores must be on file in the Field Experience office before a student can be recommended for passage through Gateway Two (which is required to take upper level EDU and SPD classes).
The PPST is offered on campus once in the fall and once in the spring. Students should contact the Counseling Center for dates and times. It is also possible to take the PPST at other locations. For more information about locations, contact the Field Experience office.
Repeating Education Courses
Students may not take a course for the third time from the School of Education & Counseling without waiting a calendar year for each subsequent retake.
Information Regarding Criminal Convictions
According to Nebraska Rule 20, students are required to affirm under oath that they have no felony convictions and no misdemeanor convictions involving abuse, neglect, or sexual misconduct. Students should stop in the Field Experience office for more information about the required Affirmation.
Field experiences are embedded in course work. At least 100 clock hours are required before student teaching. See the course listings in college catalog for more information.
Student Teaching Semester
The student teaching semester consists of both on and off campus experiences. The application process for student teaching begins the semester before you will student teach. No applications will be accepted after October 15 for those student teaching in the Spring and March 15 for those student teaching in the fall. See also Gateway Three.